Bosa and Planargia

Many villages to visit



A beautiful and fascinating village where tradition and modernity merge. A first indelible sight of Bosa will be the historic district of sa Costa: here, colourful houses climb the slopes of the Serravalle hills, dominated by the 12th century Malaspina castle. It is reached on foot: at the top is a panorama of the whole town to be admired. Walk along the poetic Lungotemo and the Ponte Vecchio which straddles the Temo, the only navigable river in Sardinia; discover the age-old tanneries which recall a very famous centre in Italy that produced high quality leather from the mid 1800s to the early 1900s. The Museo delle Conce also testifies to it.


Magomadas (with guide)

At Magomandas you will find the Church of San Giovanni Battista. Dating back to the 13th century, the church has a single nave. Of note is a precious red trachyte pointed arch set between the presbytery and the nave; the arch was made in 1631 by the Piccapedreris masters of Macomer. An inner room in the parish house houses the Saracen cloth: this is part of a war flag that Giovanni Maria Poddighe, captain of the Magomadas guards, snatched from the enemy during a bloody battle fought to defend the village from incursions by the barbarians in 1684.

Another place of interest is the Wine Museum. The museum building was an old parish house that was completed in 1801 and owned by the priest Angelo Maria Atene of Magomadas. The museum exhibits include antique tools used in grape processing and wine production. There is a well-stocked tasting room with a Planargia malvasia exhibition belonging to the private collection of scholar Gilberto Arru. In the courtyard of the house there can be seen the remains of the ancient Oladolzu nuraghe with a view of the village overlook, from which the countryside of olive groves and vineyards, and the sea below, can be admired.



At Flussio you will find the recently opened asphodel Museum. The museum presents the collection and processing of asphodel for the creation of precious baskets that are typical of the village. The route includes a visit to the artisan workshops on the main street, to watch the creation of characteristic artefacts.



The town presents itself to the visitor like an open-air museum, leading you to admire precious granite fountains and numerous murals portraying insights into the life of the small community.



The Church of San Gabriele Arcangelo is here. The church dates back to 1600 and has a single nave with four side-chapels that house wooden retables. On the altar is a precious statue of San Gabriele Arcangelo, attributed to the sculptor Nino Pisano. The crypt houses an archaeological area with the remains of the Romanesque and Gothic temples that existed here prior to the construction of the current church.



At Suni one should visit the Nuraghe Nuraddeo – Archaeological area. Among the best preserved on the island, the Nuraghe Nuraddeo is of a complex type and is located at the centre of the Pedrasenta plateau. It consists of a keep surrounded by a bastion of three towers connected by straight walls. The site is completed with a series of huts belonging to the village, set around the central structure.
“Tiu Virgiliu” House Museum owes its name to its last owner. Also known as the peasant Technology House, it offers significant witness to the peasant and artisan culture of the period between the 19th and 20th centuries. The house preserves objects and machinery of ethnographic and anthropological interest, linked to those craft activities of the agro-pastoral world that characterized the village’s economy until the first post-war period.